Skip to content

2022 Michigan Total Softball Player of the Year Contest

State Champs W
This poll has ended (since 14 days).

Welcome to the 2022 Michigan High School Softball Player of the Year Contest sponsored by Total Softball and State Champs W! Congratulations to all of our contestants, and our FINAL FOUR below!

The criteria that will be used to select the 2022 Michigan High School Softball Player of the Year Contest champion will be: Performance Throughout Season 30%, Level Of Competition 20%, Online Vote 20%, Big Game Performance 15%, Team Success 10%, Highly Recruited Athlete 5%.

The 2022 Total Softball Player of the Year will be announced the week of June 21. The final award selection and presentation will take place with our good friends at Total Softball!

Please check out State Champs! W's Swing Away Softball Show - which premieres on Thursday's at 6 pm on: or find the Total Softball Player of the Year Segment on State Champs W's Facebook page. Or stream it on our State Champs TV YouTube.

And for more on Total Sports please visit

Abby Hornberger

Graduating Year: 2022
Position: SS
Division: D1
High School: Warren-Regina
College Commitment: Princeton

A member of the 2019 Regina State Champion team, Abby Hornberger has been a mainstay at SS for Hall of Fame coach Diane Laffey. The Princeton commit also won a USA 16u National title on the travel ball circuit last summer. Abby is off to a quick start this season with 8 homeruns, batting .457 and driving in 11 runs in 13 games.

Abby Hornberger

Photo Courtesy Daily Advent

Megan Nuechterlein

Graduating Year: 2023
Position: P
Division: D1
High School: Dakota
College Commitment: Kent State


Led Dakota to a Division 1 regional championship and a share of the MAC Red Division crown.  Committed to Kent State. Nuechterlein compiled 203 strikeouts and a 0.72 ERA in 116 1/3 innings for the Cougars, who advanced to the Division 1 state quarterfinals. She was also a threat at the plate, batting .394 with three home runs and 28 RBI. 

Megan Nuechterlein

Photo Courtesy Matt Mowery

Ava Bradshaw

Graduating Year: 2024
Position: P
Division: D1
High School: South Lyon
College Commitment: Uncommitted


For the first time in the history of the competition, we have a reigning Total Softball Player of the Year back for 2022. In 2021, Ava led South Lyon to a State Championship by going 24-4 on the mound, with an ERA of 1.127, 329 strikeouts and 51 walks, allowing opponents to hit just .140. At the plate, she hit .410 with 17 extra-base hits on the season, with 30 RBI and 14 runs scored (when she ran for herself). 

Ava Bradshaw

Photo Courtesy Toledo Blade

Aly Van Brandt

Graduating Year: 2023 Position: IF Division: D4 High School: Ottawa Lake Whiteford College Commitment: Indiana


The Indiana University commit VanBrandt exploded onto the prep scene last year, setting single-season Whiteford records for batting average in a season (.642), hits (77), runs scored (66) and stolen bases (40). She led off 24 of Whiteford’s 36 games by reaching base and helped the Bobcats go 32-4 and reach the Division 4 quarterfinals. She was named all-league, all-region and all-state.

Aly Van Brandt


Troyer, Kamryn Centreville
Nader, Kelsey Canton
Ramey, Madi Allen Park
Ramey, Madi Allen Park
Tolmey, Keira Clarkston
Jones, Jaden Gaylord
Edwards, Faith Centerville
Walters, Grace South Lyon
Smith, Jordan Notre Dame Prep
Coombe, Kenedy Clio
Wright, Allison Jenison
Mutter, Brittani WL Northern
Beshears, Britain WL Central
Chaput, Izzy Mercy
Sleeman, Carly Zeeland West
Salts, Bree Grass Lake
Jenkinson, Delaney Holly